LSC Board of Directors Meeting Des Moines, Iowa July 2014

July 25, 2014

image des moines meeting


LSC Board met July 20-22 at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. Iowa Supreme Court Justice David Wiggins and Judge Robert W. Pratt of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Iowa joined Supreme Court justices from five other states at Drake Law School in Des Moines on July 21 for panel discussions on civil legal aid. 
Joining Justice Wiggins and Judge Pratt were North Dakota Supreme Court Justice Daniel J. Crothers, Illinois Supreme Court Justice Thomas L. Kilbride, Minnesota Supreme Court Justice David R. Stras, Missouri Supreme Court Judge Richard B. Teitelman, and Nebraska Supreme Court Justice John F. Wright.
The panel addressed LSC Board members and an audience of approximately 100 attorneys, judges and other access-to-justice leaders from across the region. They discussed the importance of access to justice issues for the judiciary.
LSC Board Vice Chair Martha Minow, Dean of Harvard Law School, moderated the panel, which took place from 9:15-10:45 a.m. at the Neal & Bea Smith Legal Clinic, 2400 University Avenue.
A second panel examined the importance of community partnerships in delivering legal aid to low-income people, focusing on best practices to improve the delivery of holistic services. Moderated by LSC President James  J. Sandman, the panel included directors from three LSC-funded legal aid offices: Joan Boles of Bay Area Legal Services in Florida; Neal S. Dudovitz of Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles County; and Dennis Groenenboom of Iowa Legal Aid. They were joined by representatives of their community partners: Mindy Murphy, President & CEO of The Spring of Tampa Bay; Barbara Kamenir Siegel of the University of Southern California Gould School of Law; and Eric Tabor, Chief Deputy Attorney General for the Iowa Attorney General’s office. The panel took place from 10:45 a.m. to 12 noon.
David Stern, executive director of Equal Justice Works, delivered the keynote speech at a luncheon following the panel discussions, with welcoming remarks from Alan O. Olson, Board President of Iowa Legal Aid.

Video: Importance of Access to Justice Judicial Panel

Hosted by Neal & Bea Smith Legal Clinic, Drake Law School, July 21, 2014. Opening Remarks: John G. Levi, LSC Board Chairman Jerry R. Foxhoven, Executive Director, Drake Legal Clinic Former Congressman Neal Smith. Panelists: Justice Daniel J. Crothers, North Dakota Supreme Court; Justice Thomas L. Kilbride, Illinois Supreme Court; Judge Robert W. Pratt, U.S. District Court, Southern District of Iowa; Justice David R. Stras, Minnesota Supreme Court; Judge Richard B. Teitelman, Supreme Court of Missouri; Justice David Wiggins, Iowa Supreme Court; Justice John F. Wright, Nebraska Supreme Court; Moderator: Dean Martha Minow, Harvard Law School and LSC Board Vice Chair.

Video: Importance of Community Partnerships - Pro Bono Panel

Hosted by Neal & Bea Smith Legal Clinic, Drake Law School, July 21, 2014. Panelists: Joan Boles, Deputy Director, Bay Area Legal Services, Inc.; Neal S. Dudovitz, Executive Director, Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles County; Dennis Groenenboom, Executive Director, Iowa Legal Aid; Mindy Murphy, President & CEO, The Spring of Tampa Bay; Barbara Kamenir Siegel, Lecturer in Law, University of Southern California Gould School of Law; Eric Tabor, Chief Deputy Attorney General, Iowa Attorney General; Moderator: James J. Sandman, President, Legal Services Corporation.

Video: Keynote Speech by David Stern

July 21, 2014. Remarks: John G. Levi, Chairman, LSC Board of Directors; Alan O. Olson, President, Iowa Legal Aid; Sharon L. Browne, LSC Board of Directors. Keynote Speaker: David Stern, Executive Director, Equal Justice Works.

Press Release: Leading Jurists from Six States Gather in Des Moines for LSC Board Meeting

Press Release: LSC to Honor Four Iowa Attorneys and Des Moines-Based Firm for Pro Bono Service