LSC Vice Chair Martha Minow Elected to American Academy of Political and Social Science

December 6, 2016

LSC Vice Chair and Harvard Law School Dean Martha Minow has been named a fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS), one of the nation’s oldest learned societies. Minow was one of five distinguished scholars elected. AAPSS inducts a new cohort of fellows each year in recognition of their contributions to society through research and public service. There are 111 fellows in total, most of them university-based scholars responsible for research that has changed our understanding of human behavior and the world in which we live; a small number of AAPSS Fellows are public servants, who have used research and evidence in institutions of government to improve the common good.

“Each year we welcome distinguished Fellows to the Academy, and this year is no different,” said Kenneth Prewitt, Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs at Columbia University and President of the AAPSS. “Each of these scholars reminds us that the results of rigorous and compelling research serve the common good when the research influences public policymaking. We are honored that they have joined the select group of Fellows of the Academy.”

Click here to read the press release on Dean Minow's election to AAPSS.